Skip To Main Content

Logo Image

Logo Title

CCSD Students Selected for Governor's Honors

CCSD Students Selected for Governor's Honors

A dozen Cherokee County School District high school students have been selected for the prestigious Georgia Governor’s Honors Program! 

The statewide summer honors program for Georgia’s top rising high school juniors and seniors offers four weeks of college-level instruction at Georgia Southern University in Statesboro.  Students are selected based on overall excellence in academics, extra-curricular activities and leadership, as well as exceptional skills and talents in a specific area of study.  Those tapped for the competitive program receive academic instruction in a specific area of study, as well as cultural and social enrichment focused on helping them become the “next generation of global critical thinkers, innovators and leaders.”

The CCSD students selected for this summer’s program are: of Cherokee High School, juniors Makenzie Bird and Sydney Watson for Communicative Arts and Andrew Tang for Music; of Creekview High School, sophomore Chloe Feibus for Theatre Performance and juniors Jessica Holcomb for Music and Emerson Shi for Science; of Etowah High School, juniors Eli Acree and Cristina Garcia for Science and Caroline Honea for Agricultural Research, Biotechnology and Science; of Sequoyah High School, juniors Sunny Nguyen for World Languages and Anna Louise Panhorst for Science; of Woodstock HS, sophomore Lily Meredith for Communicative Arts.

“Congratulations to our Governor’s Honors finalists – I know you will represent your school and our community with excellence,” Superintendent of Schools Dr. Brian V. Hightower said.  “The bar to earn a spot at this elite program is set very high, and it’s impressive to see so many of our students selected and for such a variety of disciplines.  Their selection is a testament to these students’ dedication to learning, as well as to the excellence of our teachers – congratulations to all of you as well!”  

The Cherokee County School Board and Dr. Hightower will recognize the students at an upcoming school board meeting.