Skip To Main Content

Logo Image

Logo Title

CCSD Students Win Positive Athlete Georgia Scholarships

CCSD Students Win Positive Athlete Georgia Scholarships

Four Cherokee County School District students have earned regional Positive Athlete Georgia scholarships!

Positive Athlete Georgia presents annual regional and state scholarships and awards as part of its mission to promote the benefits of positivity to young athletes around the world.  

Students are nominated by coaches, principals, athletic directors, teachers and parents.  In addition to demonstrating excellence in their sport, winners must show: optimistic attitude, teammate encouragement, servant leadership, heart for others, ability to admit imperfections, giving 100 percent all the time, and realizing the team as more important than the individual.

The scholarships are presented by Positive Athlete Georgia in conjunction with sponsoring businesses.  

Senior Elle Kenney of Cherokee High School has earned the Positive Energy Award sponsored by Cobb EMC.

Senior Tara Parks of Cherokee High School has earned the Hope & Will Comeback Athlete Award sponsored by Children’s Healthcare of Atlanta.

Junior Jack Strickland of Etowah High School has earned the Wellness Ambassador Award sponsored by WellStar Health System.

Sophomore Cassidy Tanner of Creekview High School has earned the Extra Credit Award sponsored by LGE Community Credit Union.

“Congratulations to our Positive Athlete Georgia scholarship winners – we’re so proud to see you honored for positivity,” Superintendent of Schools Dr. Brian V. Hightower said.  “We admire our student athletes’ dedication to their sport, but we admire even more their work to demonstrate outstanding character.  Thank you for your sportsmanship, thank you to our coaches for guiding these students, and thank you to the scholarship sponsors for supporting our students!” 

Earlier this year, 10 CCSD student athletes and a coach also earned Positive Athlete Georgia regional individual awards and Creekview High School earned the regional overall school award.