Skip To Main Content

Logo Image

Logo Title

CCSD Teacher Selected for Elite State Leadership Program

CCSD Teacher Selected for Elite State Leadership Program

A Cherokee County School District teacher is among an elite group of educators selected for a state leadership program!

Lt. Col. (Retired) Stephen Bergey, lead instructor for Etowah High School’s Career Pathway in Air Force Junior ROTC - Government and Public Administration, has been named to the LEAD CTAE (Career, Technical and Agricultural Education) leadership development program.

Sponsored by the CTAE Resource Network, Georgia Department of Education and Georgia Association for Career and Technical Education (GACTE), the program is designed to provide career education teachers with valuable skills and knowledge in team building, leadership, priority management, business engagement, legislative advocacy and policy, communication, instruction and economic development.

“Congratulations to Steve on earning a spot in this prestigious program,” Superintendent of Schools Dr. Brian V. Hightower said.  “He is an outstanding educator and leader, and we know he will represent Etowah and CCSD with excellence.”

The group of 20 teachers selected from CTAE educators statewide will participate in program sessions throughout the school year culminating at the annual GACTE summer conference.  They represent 17 school systems and 12 program areas.  

Lt. Col. Bergey has earned national honors for excellence in teaching, including being named the 2022 Overall AFJROTC Instructor of the Year out of more than 1,900 AFJROTC instructors worldwide.  He and fellow Etowah HS AFJROTC instructor Technical Sgt. (Retired) Ciarra Malto earned the 2023 AFJROTC Outstanding Instructor Award.  

The program has earned numerous honors including an overall unit assessment score of Exceeds Standards, the highest rating available and which ranks it in the top 12% worldwide; and first place in the 2022 Raider National Championships.  Over the past six years, an impressive seven cadets have won competitive scholarships to earn pilot’s licenses through the U.S. Air Force JROTC Flight Academies.